Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Sociology

Welcome to the Sociology subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Main Library

Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh
EH8 9LJ

Phone: 0131 650 3409
Email: is.helpdesk@ed.ac.uk

Getting to know the Main Library

A scrollable online tour of the Main Library to help you familiarise yourself with the building and its facilities, services and resources.

Finding books, e-books, journals, articles, etc.

 
Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use EASE to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines. 

Where are the Sociology books in the Library?

The Main Library holds the majority of books for Sociology. Most of the books in the Main Library are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB (High Use Book) Collection on the ground floor.

The most common shelfmarks for Sociology start with:

H-HX Social Sciences
HM Sociology

Remember the Library has access to thousands of e-books which you can access via DiscoverEd.

How do I find journals and journal articles?

The Library has access to thousands of e-journals. 

In the Main Library print journals are on the 4th floor with shelfmark range Per..0 - Per..9.

A large number of print journals are held at the Library Annexe.

You can find print and e-journals and access e-journals and e-journal articles through DiscoverEd.

Other University of Edinburgh Libraries

There are 8 other site libraries at the University that you can visit and use. 

Internal photo of New College Library

Photo of Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library building

Centre for Research Collections

The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

What do I do if the Library doesn't have what I need?

What is the University Collections Facility?

The University Collections Facility (formerly known as the Library Annexe) is the University's off-campus storage facility. Material can be requested and delivered to Main Library or site library for borrowing or you can request scans of single chapters or articles via electronic document delivery.

Other library catalogues