Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Divinity

Welcome to the Divinity subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Main Library

You will find Divinity books at the Main Library, in the Hub Collection (ground floor) and on floor 2.

Main Library
George Square
Edinburgh
EH8 9LJ

Phone: 0131 650 3409
Email: is.helpdesk@ed.ac.uk

Opening hours: www.ed.ac.uk/is/main-library-opening

Interactive maps of the Main Library:

https://www.librarymaps.is.ed.ac.uk/

Follow the Main Library on Twitter: @EdUniMainLib

New College Library Special Collections

New College Library's substantial Special Collections reflect its heritage as a centre of learning for Presbyterian ministry. Bibles and pamphlets (including many unique early Scottish imprints) are particular strengths of the collection. 

Centre for Research Collections

Scottish Metrical Psalter, 1562-1592, Thomas Wood (Wode) of St Andrews (Dk.5.14),The Centre for Research Collections (CRC) is the main space for anyone using the University of Edinburgh's historic and special collections, including rare books and manuscripts, University of Edinburgh archives, personal and institutional archives, Lothian Health Services Archives, University of Edinburgh PhD theses, art collection, musical instrument collection and more.

The CRC are based on the 6th floor, Main Library.

New College Library

New College Library houses the main printed collections for divinity and religious studies. Search DiscoverEd to explore and locate New College Library's printed and digital collections. Some older material (pre-1986)  is not yet catalogued online and you will need to use the printed catalogue in the library.

The Reserve collection of high demand titles on student reading lists are shelved in the Reserve area of the Library Hall, and all other books can be found in the Library Hall and in Stack 1. Current journal issues are in Library Hall with older, bound volumes are shelved downstairs in Stack 2.

 

 

New College Library
Mound Place
Edinburgh
EH1 2LU

Phone: 0131 650 8957
Email: is.helpdesk@ed.ac.uk

Opening hours: www.ed.ac.uk/is/new-college-library

How Divinity books are arranged

At New College Library and the Main Library, books are arranged using the Library of Congress classmark system.

The most common classmarks for Divinity subjects use the classmark B:

B-BJ Philosophy, Psychology, Ethics
BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism.
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism
BR, BS Christianity. The Bible
BT, BV Doctrinal Theology Practical Theology.
BX Christian denominations

But Divinity crosses over with a wide range of other subject areas and disciplines so you may find yourself looking for other shelfmarks e.g. C-CT which covers such areas as the History of Civilisation and Archaeology, H-HX for Social Sciences (including Economic History and Social History), PJ for language dictionaries etc.

What do I do if the Library doesn't have what I need?

It may be possible (and sometimes quicker) to visit another library to get access to the item you require. Most libraries will have an online catalogue or discovery service you can search. Check with the library you wish to visit what their access policies are.

Some useful catalogues:

The Library Annexe

The Library Annexe is the University's off-campus storage facility, housing a wide range of general and research collections. Material can be requested and delivered to Main Library or site library for borrowing or you can request scans of single chapters or articles via electronic document delivery.

A large number of print journals are held at the Library Annexe as well as some older books & monographs and other material.

How do I find journals and journal articles?

The Library has access to thousands of journals and e-journals. 

In New College Library print journals have current issues on display in the library hall and older issues are kept in Stack II.

In the Main Library print journals are on the 4th floor with shelfmark range Per..0 - Per..9.

A large number of print journals are held at the Library Annexe.

You can find print and e-journals and access e-journals and e-journal articles through DiscoverEd.

Exam papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Other University of Edinburgh Libraries

Although New College Library and the Main Library are where most of the items for Divinity are held you may sometimes need to visit one of the other 8 site libraries at the University to get hold of the books or journals you need. Or you may just be looking for some alternative study space. As long as you have your University of Edinburgh student ID card, you can access any of these libraries and borrow books.

 

Photo of Noreen and Kenneth Murray Library building