Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

History

Welcome to the History subject guide - your guide to using the library resources, services and facilities for your subject.

Information about Library & University Collections services in response to COVID-19

This page contains current information on library closures, loans and fines, support for online learning, online access to teaching resources and how to get further help.

Search Library Resources

 
Use DiscoverEd to search the Library's collections and find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use your University Login to sign into your account and manage loans, requests and fines. 

Main Library

The Main Library holds the majority of books for History. Most of these books are on the 2nd floor or in the HUB Collection on the ground floor.

Resource Lists

Find your course reading lists via Resource Lists. Type in your course code or keywords from the course title, or your lecturer's name.

Please note that not all courses at the University use Resource Lists. 

HCA Librarian blog

Old books on a shelf

HCA Librarian blog

Blogging on library news, resources, services and skills for staff & students in the School of History, Classics and Archaeology.

British Online Archives – full access until mid April 2020

British Online Archives (BOA) are providing 30 days free access (starting from 23rd March) to its entire collection of digital primary sources in light of the Covid-19 outbreak.

JSTOR – expanded set of content freely available now

JSTOR, and their participating publishers, are making an expanded set of content freely available to participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19.

Bloomsbury Digital Resources – full access until May 2020

Bloomsbury Digital Resources are providing us with full access to their online resources until the end of May 2020 in light of the Covid-19 outbreak. 

Bloomsbury Digital Resources products cover a range of disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Visual Arts, and Performing Arts. Their collections include primary documents, critical texts, historical archives and the latest in video and audio resources.

On trial: Telegraph and Financial Times Archives

The Library currently has trial access to these two extensive newspaper databases from GaleThe Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016, is the fully searchable digital archive of what was once the world's largest-selling newspaper. TheFinancial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016, delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2016. Trial access ends 15th April 2020.

Exam Papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Search for literature on historical topics


Referencing

Help!

Help with all aspects of using the Library, its facilities, services and resources, is available from the Library Helpdesks. If you are unable to find what you are looking for on this Subject Guide or on the Library website please do contact them in person, by phone or email.

If you would like help with your literature search or with finding information you can contact me directly.

Your Academic Support Librarian

Caroline Stirling's picture
Caroline Stirling
Contact:
Argyle House (Floor F East)
3 Lady Lawson Street
Edinburgh EH3 9DR
Website

Follow @HCAlibrarian

Lynda.com

Digital skills and training

Free courses available for you to book onto to develop your digital and information literacy, desktop and IT productivity skills.