Skip to main content
The University of Edinburgh home
Show/hide site search
Information Services

Biomedical Sciences

Welcome to the Biomedical Sciences subject guide. Use the tabs at the left of the page to find information about different resources, databases and referencing.

Finding Biomedical Science literature

Web of Science
Citations and abstracts to millions of journal articles and conference proceedings. Impact factors, h-indexes and email alerts available.

MEDLINE
Covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. 

EMBASE
A major pharmacological and biomedical literature database covering mainly journal literature (plus some book reviews and conference proceedings) with strong coverage of European journals.

Scopus
Abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers over 20,000 journals from health, life, physical and social sciences and the humanities.

More databases for Biomedical Sciences

Find books and e-books

Use DiscoverEd to find books, ebooks, ejournal articles and more. Use EASE to access your Library Account and manage loans, requests and fines.

Need help using DiscoverEd? Check the FAQs.

Other useful resources

Finding clinical trials
Suggestions of web resources and subscription databases which can be used to find clinical trials.


Grey literature
Grey literature are sources of literature which may be considered unpublished, or non-standard academic literature, eg theses and technical reports. In addition, reports from government or organisations working in your field of interest which may be of the right standard for your work. 


Henry Stewart Talks - Biomedical and Life Sciences
Seminar-style talks by leading world experts in ​Biomedical and Life Sciences. All of the seminars have been specially commissioned from leading scientists and are presented in a user-friendly format of animated slides with synchronized narration.


Useful resources for learning anatomy

  • Acland Anatomy Online
    High quality videos of Human Anatomy which use fresh, unembalmed specimens to retain the colour, texture and mobility of the living human body.
  • Anatomy TV
    A multimedia 3D anatomy learning resource with interactive modules, animations and quizzes on organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems.
  • Complete Anatomy
    Interactive 3D anatomy learning resource. 
    *Please note that the in-app Courses are not included in the Library subscription*
    Notes: In order to gain access, you need to register while on campus, or if you are off-campus with Virtual Private Network (VPN) enabled. To get started, 
  1. download the Complete Anatomy 2018 app via the Apple, Microsoft or Google app stores. 
  2. open the app and select the Profile icon.
  3. select Register for free.
  4. Register in-app while on-campus or using VPN while off-campus. After registration, the app may be used off-campus without VPN. To set up the VPN on your device, see: https://www.ed.ac.uk/information-services/computing/desktop-personal/vpn

Found a resource that's unavailable?

Use Inter-Library Loans and Intra-Library Loans to have resources (digital and hardcopies) delivered from other campuses and other libraries around the world.

Can't find a book you need for your studies?
Use the Request a Book service to tell us and we will try and buy it for the library.

Academic Support Librarian

Ruth Jenkins's picture
Ruth Jenkins
Contact:
Western General Hospital Library
Crewe Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
0131 537 2299

Course Resource Lists

Lookup resource lists by list title, course title, course code or course instructor

Exam papers

Exam Papers Online provides access to the collected degree examination papers of the University from 2004 onwards. They may be used by students as a study aid only.

Intercalating medical student?

Visit this guide to Library resources and services, working with research literature, and study skills for medical students moving into their intercalated year.

Literature review & study skills resources for intercalating medical students